COVID-19 DELAYS: Please see our shipping policy before ordering

ATLAS, ATLAS

Thursday 3 December, 7pm GMT/ 2pm EST/ 11am PST at The Warburg Institute

The Warburg Institute in partnership with Ignota Books celebrates the launch of two new books, Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne: The Original and Atlas of Anomalous AI, with Bill Sherman, Ben Vickers, writer and musician K Allado-McDowell, and artist and performer Jenna Sutela. This event will feature conversation, performance and hands-on exploration of both books. 

Bilderatlas Mnemosyne: The Original - the folio volume gathers the 63 plates of Warburg’s Atlas – newly photographed from the original, multi-colored images and the 20 panels from the previous versions in black and white, along with essays by Axel Heil, Roberto Ohrt, Bernd Scherer, Bill Sherman and Claudia Wedepohl. 

Atlas of Anomalous AI is a compelling and surprising map of our complex relationship to intelligence, from ancient to emerging systems of knowledge. A wildly associative constellation of ideas, stories, artworks and historical materials, the Atlas draws on Aby Warburg’s Mnemosyne Atlas — an image map of the “afterlife of antiquity” — to approach the defining concepts of AI from an imaginative, artistic and revitalising perspective. The compendium is made up of contributions from over 25 leading thinkers, artists, philosophers and engineers, including Blaise Agüera y Arcas, Ramon Amaro, Jorge Luis Borges, Federico Campagna, Catherine Malabou, William Blake, Ithell Colquhoun, DeepDream, Pierre Huyghe, C. G. Jung, Hilma af Klint, Emma Kunz, Casey Reas, Jenna Sutela, Suzanne Treister and Hito Steyerl.

FREE VIA ZOOM. Please book here if possible by 5.00pm on Wednesday 2 December to be sent a link to the session.

If you have any trouble booking please contact warburg@sas.ac.uk