COVID-19 and EU customers: please read before ordering

Worlding: Reza Negarestani – We do not need to be saved from a world we could have: of worlds and humans
Quantity must be 1 or more

Worlding: Reza Negarestani – We do not need to be saved from a world we could have: of worlds and humans

Thursday 3 February, 7pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST

Neither entirely philosophical nor fully science-fictional, this presentation by philosopher Reza Negarestani seeks to define what it means to live in or inhabit a world, all things considered. Its title refers to Christopher Nolan's latest movie Tenet, in which the protagonists flaunt their time-policing powers of saving us from a different world we could have.

By virtue of living in a world, one has, also, the wherewithal to think about what else could have happened. Eventually, one arrives at an ethical and communist responsibility to travel to the past to postulate and exemplify what sort of worlds and humans we could have, and which the time cops' narratives deprive us of.

Reza Negarestani is a philosopher and writer. Since the early 2000s, he has contributed extensively to journals and anthologies and lectured at numerous international universities and institutes. Negarestani’s writings have been translated into more than twelve languages, including Russian. His latest philosophical work, Intelligence and Spirit (Urbanomic/Sequence Press/MIT, 2018), is an inquiry into the meaning of intelligence at the intersection of artificial intelligence, philosophy of mind, theory of computation, and the philosophy of German Idealism. Negarestani’s most recent project focuses on worldmaking and the question of what it means to inhabit a world as what Wittgenstein would have called a lifeform.

This event will take place via Zoom. We will send you your Zoom link about one hour before the event starts.

This event is 'pay what you want': we thank you for your support of independent publishing in these challenging times!